Access keys | Skip to primary navigation | Skip to secondary navigation | Skip to content | Skip to footer |
Problems viewing this site

Since 2010, Australia has been moving toward a national framework for schooling aimed at raising education standards and achieving nationally consistent curriculum, assessment and reporting.

The QCAA and Queensland's school sectors — Education Queensland, Queensland Catholic Education Commission, and Independent Schools Queensland — have developed advice, guidelines and resources to support schools during the transition to the Australian Curriculum. Further advice is available from individual schooling sectors.

The Australian Curriculum will include the 8 learning areas outlined in the Melbourne Declaration on Educational Goals for Young Australians (2008) (PDF, 977 kB).

The following materials support teachers to develop their curriculum in English, Mathematics, Science and History. Although the materials have been developed by different sources, all essential materials are available through QCAA’s website.

Curriculum requirements



Australian Curriculum content

Achievement standards

Requirements are taken directly from Australian Curriculum: English (v4.0) developed by the Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA).

Advice, guidelines and resources

Planning teaching and learning

Standards elaborations, A to E

Assessment advice and guidelines

Reporting advice and guidelines

Advice, guidelines and resources are based on the Australian Curriculum Year level descriptions and organisation sections. They have been developed by the QCAA to assist teachers in their planning and assessment and include links to Queensland-developed supporting resources, exemplars and templates.

Share this page:

email  Facebook  Twitter