Access keys | Skip to primary navigation | Skip to secondary navigation | Skip to content | Skip to footer |
Problems viewing this site


The Arts have the capacity to engage, inspire and enrich all students, exciting the imagination and encouraging them to reach their creative and expressive potential.

The Australian Curriculum: The Arts offers students the opportunity to study all five subjects in the primary years of schooling, and to specialise in secondary school.

The five subjects enable students to learn how to create, design, represent, communicate and share their imagined and conceptual ideas, emotions, observations and experiences.


In the Australian Curriculum, The Arts is a learning area that draws together related but distinct art forms. While these art forms have close relationships and are often used in interrelated ways, each involves different approaches to arts practices and critical and creative thinking that reflect distinct bodies of knowledge, understanding and skills.


Key ideas

Content descriptions in each arts subject reflect the interrelated strands of making and responding.

  • making includes learning about and using knowledge, skills, techniques, processes, materials and technologies to explore arts practices and make artworks that communicate ideas and intentions.
  • responding includes exploring, responding to, analysing and interpreting artworks.



    The Australian Curriculum: The Arts covers each of the five arts subjects – Dance, Drama, Media Arts, Music, and Visual Arts – across bands of year levels:

    • Foundation to Year 2
    • Years 3 and 4
    • Years 5 and 6
    • Years 7 and 8
    • Years 9 and 10.


    PDF documents

    Resources and support materials for the Australian Curriculum: The Arts are available as PDF documents.



    Back to top