Access keys | Skip to primary navigation | Skip to secondary navigation | Skip to content | Skip to footer |
Problems viewing this site

Language subjects

Each language examination consists of an oral and a written component. Candidates must sit both components. No alternative arrangements will be made if you fail to attend a scheduled written examination. If you are ill on your oral examination day, QCAA’s usual processes will apply. Please refer to the section on illness and misadventure in the Candidates handbook,

Oral component (Speaking)

In-person examinations

SubjectDateDetails
Arabic
Chinese
Korean 
Russian
Spanish
Vietnamese
Oral examinations will be conducted on a Saturday in October.

You will be notified of your date and time once enrolments are confirmed.
Candidates within 100 kilometres of the Brisbane CBD will be individually assessed by a marker at a central Brisbane venue.

The venue address and assessment time will be sent to each candidate in mid-September.

Students outside the 100 kilometre range will be assessed by telephone.

Telephone examinations

SubjectDateDetails
Modern Greek
Polish
Punjabi
Early November Each candidate will be individually assessed by a marker by telephone at their school.

The assessment date and time will be sent to each candidate in late October.

Written component (Reading, Writing and Listening)

All candidates

SubjectDateTime
Korean Tuesday 16 October 9 am to 11:15 am
Vietnamese Tuesday 16 October 1 pm to 3:15 pm
Chinese Wednesday 17 October 9 am to 12:25 pm (Reading and Writing)
1:15 pm to 2:15 pm (Listening)
Polish
Punjabi
Russian
Tuesday 23 October 1 pm to 3:40 pm
Arabic Tuesday 23 October 1 pm to 3:15 pm
Modern Greek Mid-November (dates and times will be confirmed in July)
Spanish

Non-language subjects

Each examination consists of two papers. Candidates must sit both Paper One and Paper Two. No alternative arrangements will be made if you fail to attend a scheduled examination.

SubjectDate Paper One Paper Two
Visual Art Thursday 18 October 9 am to 1:10 pm 2:15 pm to 4:25 pm
Biology Friday 19 October 9 am to 11:40 am 1 pm to 3:10 pm
English Monday 22 October 9 am to 12:10 pm 1:15 pm to 4:25 pm
Mathematics A Thursday 25 October 9 am to 12:10 pm 1:15 pm to 4:25 pm
Chemistry Friday 26 October 9 am to 11:40 am 1 pm to 3:10 pm
Mathematics B Monday 29 October 9 am to 12:10 pm 1:15 pm to 4:25 pm
Legal Studies Tuesday 30 October 9 am to 11:40 am 1 pm to 4:10 pm
Physics Thursday 1 November 9 am to 11:40 am 1 pm to 3:10 pm
Philosophy & Reason Friday 2 November 9 am to 12:10 pm 1:15 pm to 4:25 pm
Modern History Monday 5 November 9 am to 11:40 am 1 pm to 3:40 pm
Accounting Wednesday 7 November 9 am to 12:10 pm 1:15 pm to 4:25 pm
Ancient History Thursday 8 November 9 am to 11:40 am 1 pm to 3:40 pm

Closing dates

DateFor
Monday 30 April Year 12 student examination registration forms
Saturday 30 June Adult student examination registration forms and payments

Applications for special provision for long-term conditions or tests in alternative formats (large print or black and white)
Friday 31 August Applications for special provision for short-term conditions or temporary injuries

Applications from registered candidates to sit outside Queensland

More information

Telephone: (07) 3120 6180
Email: externalexams@qcaa.qld.edu.au

Back to top

Last updated: 5 April 2018

Share this page:

email  Facebook  Twitter