Access keys | Skip to primary navigation | Skip to secondary navigation | Skip to content | Skip to footer |
Problems viewing this site

Language subjects

Each examination consists of an oral component and a written component. Candidates must sit both components.

Oral component (Speaking)

Candidates within 100 kilometres of Brisbane CBD

SubjectDateDetails
Arabic
Korean 
Russian
Spanish
Vietnamese
Saturday 14 October Each candidate will be individually assessed by a marker at a central Brisbane venue.

The venue address and assessment time will be sent to each candidate in mid-September.
Chinese Saturday 21 October

All other candidates

SubjectDateDetails
Arabic
Chinese
Korean
Modern Greek
Polish
Punjabi
Russian
Spanish
Vietnamese
Early November Each candidate will be individually assessed by a marker by telephone at their school.

The assessment date and time will be sent to each candidate in late October.

Written component (Reading, Writing and Listening)

All candidates

SubjectDateTime
Korean Tuesday 17 October 9 am to 11:15 am
Vietnamese Tuesday 17 October 1 pm to 3:15 pm
Arabic Wednesday 18 October 1 pm to 3:15 pm
Polish
Punjabi
Russian
Wednesday 18 October 1 pm to 3:40 pm
Chinese Monday 23 October 9 am to 12:25 pm (Reading and Writing)
1:15 pm to 2:15 pm (Listening)
Modern Greek Monday 20 November 10:45 am to 1:00 pm
Spanish Tuesday 21 November 10:45 am to 1:00 pm

Non-language subjects

Each examination consists of two papers.
Candidates must sit both Paper One and Paper Two.

SubjectDate Paper One Paper Two
Visual Art Thursday 19 October 9 am to 1:10 pm 2:15 pm to 4:25 pm
Biology Friday 20 October 9 am to 11:40 am 1 pm to 3:10 pm
English Tuesday 24 October 9 am to 12:10 pm 1:15 pm to 4:25 pm
Mathematics A Thursday 26 October 9 am to 12:10 pm 1:15 pm to 4:25 pm
Chemistry Friday 27 October 9 am to 11:40 am 1 pm to 3:10 pm
Mathematics B Monday 30 October 9 am to 12:10 pm 1:15 pm to 4:25 pm
Legal Studies Tuesday 31 October 9 am to 11:40 am 1 pm to 4:10 pm
Physics Thursday 2 November 9 am to 11:40 am 1 pm to 3:10 pm
Philosophy & Reason Friday 3 November 9 am to 12:10 pm 1:15 pm to 4:25 pm
Modern History Monday 6 November 9 am to 11:40 am 1 pm to 3:40 pm
Accounting Wednesday 8 November 9 am to 12:10 pm 1:15 pm to 4:25 pm
Ancient History Thursday 9 November 9 am to 11:40 am 1 pm to 3:40 pm

Closing dates

DateFor
Sunday 30 April Year 12 student examination registration forms
Friday 30 June Adult student examination registration forms and payments
Thursday 31 August Applications for special provision
Applications from registered candidates to sit outside Queensland

More information

Telephone: (07) 3864 0475
Email: externalexams@qcaa.qld.edu.au


Back to top

Last updated: 17 October 2017

Share this page:

email  Facebook  Twitter