Access keys | Skip to primary navigation | Skip to secondary navigation | Skip to content | Skip to footer |
Problems viewing this site

Australian Curriculum achievement standards

The P–10 Australian Curriculum achievement standards describe what students typically demonstrate at the end of each teaching and learning year.

The achievement standards for each learning area are organised as Understanding and Skills and describe a broad sequence of expected learning across P-10. They emphasise the depth of conceptual understanding, the sophistication of skills and the ability to apply essential knowledge.

The Year level achievement standard should be read in conjunction with the content descriptions.

Standards elaborations

The QCAA has developed standards elaborations (SEs) from the Australian Curriculum achievement standards to provide teachers with a tool for making consistent and comparable judgments about how well, on a five-point scale, students have demonstrated what they know, understand and can do.

The SEs use the two dimensions common to all Australian Curriculum learning area achievement standards: Understanding and Skills. Within these dimensions, the SEs:

  • identify the valued features of each Australian Curriculum learning area drawn from the achievement standard and the content descriptions
  • describe the characteristics of student work to assist teachers to make judgments about the evidence of learning in student work.

See below for standards elaborations for Australian Curriculum learning areas and subjects.

Share this page:

email  Facebook  Twitter