Access keys | Skip to primary navigation | Skip to secondary navigation | Skip to content | Skip to footer |
Problems viewing this site

Literacy encompasses the knowledge, skills and dispositions that students need to use language for different purposes in a range of contexts.

The Literacy general capability is organised into three elements:

  • Speaking and listening
  • Reading and viewing
  • Writing.


The following advice provides background to the Literacy general capability, including the literacy progression. It supports teachers to use the general capability across all levels of schooling and all learning areas.


The following progression resource for the literacy general capability is labelled from Level 1a–6 to present a sequence of detailed, observable, evidence-based indicators of literacy development.

Reading and viewing includes four sub-elements:

  • Phonological awareness
  • Phonic knowledge and word recognition
  • Fluency
  • Understanding texts.

Strategies and resources are available to support the teaching of the Understanding texts sub-element.

Writing includes five sub-elements:

  • Creating texts
  • Grammar
  • Punctuation
  • Spelling
  • Handwriting and keyboarding.

A resources list is available to support the teaching of the Writing sub-elements across Prep–Year 10 phases of schooling and learning areas.

Professional learning

The QCAA provides professional development resources to support schools in improving literacy outcomes for students.

Schools and educators can also:

Find out more about QCAA Professional development and events.

Back to top