Access keys | Skip to primary navigation | Skip to secondary navigation | Skip to content | Skip to footer |
Problems viewing this site


From 2023 NAPLAN is changing:

  • The NAPLAN tests will move to Term 1.
  • In 2023, NAPLAN will be held from Wednesday 15 March to Monday 27 March.
  • The existing triennial NAP Sample assessments for Years 6 and 10 in Science, Civics and Citizenship, and Digital Literacy will move to Term 2.
  • Additional new annual assessments for Years 6 and 10 will be available as opt-in assessments, starting with Science in 2024, Civics and Citizenship in 2025 and Digital Literacy in 2026. Results will be available to participating schools to support teaching and learning but will not be reported publicly.

You can read the Australian Education Minister’s official media release on the National Assessment Program website.

The QCAA will support schools to transition to the new NAPLAN timeframes. This page will be updated with information regarding changes to the 2023 tests as it becomes available.


Moving NAPLAN to Term 1 means results will be available earlier and can be used to inform teaching and learning.

The test window in 2023 will be Wednesday 15 March to Monday 27 March 2023.

NAPLAN test window dates 2023 to 2027 Year
Term One Test window
2023 15/03/2023 27/03/2023
2024 13/03/2024 25/03/2024
2025 12/03/2025 24/03/2025
2026 11/03/2026 23/03/2026
2027 10/03/2027 22/03/2027

Over the next year, the QCAA will work with ACARA to develop and provide transition support and information to ensure the change of timing is as easy as possible for schools and students.

ACARA has established a project team to commence the 2023 program and implementation planning in parallel to conducting NAPLAN 2022. This will include redevelopment of the program plan, and development of communication collateral for the changed test window timing.

New assessments in the domains tested through the NAP Sample assessments program for Year 6 and Year 10 students will become available as opt-in assessments for any school or system.

These assessments will provide additional information for schools, showing teachers how well students are acquiring essential knowledge and understanding in key areas of science, civics and citizenship, and digital literacy, including information about student performance in relation to national proficiency standards. The results will not be publicly reported.

They will be phased in over 3 years, starting with science in 2024, with civics and citizenship added in 2025, followed by digital literacy in 2026.

Over the next year, ACARA will work with Education Services Australia and education systems to develop and implement the opt-in tests.

Schools will be able to access the online assessments via a self-service portal.

The 40-minute online assessments aim to provide schools with an understanding of where the school and students in Years 6 and 10 sit in relation to national means and proficiency standards for each of the 3 key areas of science, civics and citizenship, and digital literacy.

Results will not be published. The assessments are designed to inform the development of teaching programs at the school level.

Schools and systems can choose any or all of the opt-in assessments, once they are all available as they are being phased in.

Schools and systems can opt in to as many or as few of the assessments as they like and for as many years as they wish to. For example, a school may opt in to undertake only the digital literacy tests in Year 6 every 2 years for a 6-year period, while another school may just do the science test in Year 10 for 5 years in a row.

Whole systems can opt in if the system authority so chooses, meaning that all schools in that system would have to participate. For example, a minister in any jurisdiction may choose to mandate participation for all government schools in particular tests, or a Catholic diocesan school authority could mandate participation for all schools in their system.

Back to top